The Chaos Whisperer

Helping you tame the Chaos at Home & Work

My Resolution #5: Work (it) Out

2 Comments

“You must have chaos within you to give birth to a dancing star.” -Friedrich Nietzsche

We all want to look better than we do, feel better, be in better shape. And while part of that is working out a way to accept ourselves and feel beautiful in our own skin, it also can’t hurt to have some goals around exercise and being healthier.

So one of my resolutions this year is to whip myself into stronger stunt actor shape. To achieve this, I plan to regiment my workout routine, train harder and more consistently, to build the strength and skills necessary for this new career of mine. Sounds exciting, huh?

Well to kick this off, I’ve set a new routine for myself that I hope to commit to for the year. The important thing to note about this new routine is the flexibility I’ve built into it. One of the biggest mistakes I see people make with respect to resolutions around health & fitness is that they box themselves into too tight of a regimen, giving them an excuse to throw in the towel and give up when they inevitably falter on their far-too-specific parameters.

My routine instead allows for the natural fluctuations in weekly schedule, and gives me room to make it work and feel I’m always accomplishing something.

It goes like this:

  • 1x per week – attend Stunt People practice, focusing on acrobatics/tumbling, parkour, falls, etc
  • 1x per week – attend Stunt People practice, focusing on Hapkido training & other martial arts
  • 3x per week – lift free weights, focusing on biceps, triceps, shoulders & back
  • Everyday – find time to squeeze in 25 pushups and 50 crunches (this amount will increase month-to-month)
  • Each month – incorporate a fun additional workout (ex. BodyRock home workouts, boxing classes or dance classes, etc)

With this outline, I have the freedom to work my goals into my weekly schedule as it shifts each week, and still come out on top. So no matter what life throws at me, I can still feel good about my success, and won’t lose momentum or motivation.

The other key element is having a buddy to keep you on track. Naturally, my buddy will be Eric, who is conveniently both my boyfriend and leader of our Stunt People crew, and is therefore already present for most of these workout elements and equally as motivated to stay in stunt-worthy shape.

So now I encourage you to find your own workout buddy, as well as a weekly routine that works for you. Remember to leave room for flexibility, so you can adjust week to week and still fit it all in! What matters more is not when you do all your exercises, but rather if you do all of them each week – and of course, that you enjoy yourself and stay pumped to keep going.

So work it into your schedule, and then go have fun working it out!

Author: Rebecca Ahn

Writer. Producer. Editor. Warrior. And one Tough Cookie!

2 thoughts on “My Resolution #5: Work (it) Out

  1. Pingback: How To Identify Your Goals « The Chaos Whisperer

  2. Pingback: How To Identify Your Goals « The Productive Artist's Guide to Life

Leave a Reply

